Views: 906

On May 24, 2024, Canada, Australia, the European Union, South Korea, Malta, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, Britain, and the United States issued a joint statement expressing serious concern over the worsening conflict in Myanmar and the increasing suffering of the civilian population. The statement highlighted airstrikes on civilians, including schools and hospitals, as well as the torture and killing of civilians. It also mentioned the sexual abuse of women and children and the urgent need for humanitarian aid.

The signatories expressed particular concern about the enforcement of the military service law and the large-scale displacement of people in Buthidaung Township. They emphasized the need for accountability for all these atrocities and called on the terrorist military group to cease the sale of weapons, including jet fuel. They also urged the junta to comply with the five ASEAN consensus agreement points and unconditionally release those who have been unjustly arrested.

Rohingya Vision News